Saturday, July 24, 2004

Anthony Award Nominations

The Anthony Award nominations were released this morning. (These are the awards given out at Boucheron, the world mystery convention.)

All in all, a very strong lineup.

Best Novel
Blood is the Sky by Steve Hamilton (St. Martin's Minotaur)
The Delicate Storm by Giles Blunt (Random House)
Every Secret Thing by Laura Lippman (Harper Collins)
Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane (William Morrow )
The Summer That Never Was/Close to Home by Peter Robinson (McClelland and Stewart)

Best First Novel
Death Of A Nationalist by Rebecca Pawel (Soho Press )
Haunted Ground by Erin Hart (Simon and Schuster)
Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear (Soho Press)
Monkeewrench/Want to Play? by P.J. Tracy (Putnam)
Wiley's Lament by Lono Waiwaiole (St. Martin's Press)

Best Paperback Original
Deadly Legacy by Robin Burcell (Avon)
Dealing In Murder by Elaine Flinn (Avon)
Find Me Again by Sylvia Maultash Warsh (Dundurn Press)
Thicker Than Water by P.J. Parrish (Pinnacle Press)
Tough Luck by Jason Starr (Vintage/Black Liz)

Best Short Story
Doppelganger by Rhys Bowen (in Blood On Their Hands, Berkley Prime Crime)
The Grass is Always Greener by Sandy Balzo (in EQMM, Mar 2003)
Munchies by Jack Bludis (in Hardbroiled, Wild Side Press)
Red Meat by Elaine Viets (in Blood On Their Hands, Berkley Prime Crime)
Wanda Wilcox Is Trapped by Eddie Muller (in Plots With Guns, Sept/Oct 2003)

Best Young Adult Mystery
Artemis Fowl - The Eternity Code by Eoin Colfer (Viking Children's Books)
Feast Of Fools by Bridget Crowley (Hodder Children's Books)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling (Bloomsbury)
No Escape by Norah McClintock (Scolastic)
Seventh Knot by Kathleen Karr (Marshall Cavendish)

Best Historical Mystery
Find Me Again by Sylvia Maultash Warsh (Dundurn Press)
For the Love of Mike by Rhys Bowen (St. Martin's Minotaur)
Let Loose The Dogs by Maureen Jennings(St. Martin's Minotaur)
Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear (Soho Press)
The Bridge of Sighs by Olen Steinhauer (St. Martin's Minotaur)

Best Critical/Non-Fiction Work
Beautiful Shadow by Andrew Wilson (Bloomsbury)
Interrogations by Jon Jordan (Mystery One Books)
Make Mine A Mystery by Gary Warren Niebuhr (Libraries Unlimited)
Mystery Women: An Encyclopedia of Leading Women Characters In Mystery Fiction, Vol III by Colleen Barnett (Poisoned Pen Press)
The Story of Jane Doe: A Book About Rape by Jane Doe (Random House)

Best Fan Publications
Deadly Pleasures by editor: George Easter
The Drood Review by editor: Jim Huang
Mystery News by editors: Lynn Kaczmarek & Chris Aldrich
Mystery Readers Journal by editor: Janet A. Rudolph
Mystery Scene Magazine by editor: Kate Stine

"Named for the late, great New York Times mystery genre critic, Anthony Boucher, the Anthonys are selected by the readers themselves. Nominees were selected from among works published for the first time in 2003. At Bouchercon2004, the final voting and presentation of the awards will take place."